Work It Out Weekends: The Beginning

January 24, 2010 at 3:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Work It Out Weekends
I’ve been debating writing this post for a little while now and I’ve decided today is the perfect day. (Besides the fact that it gives me yet another excuse to procrastinate ironing my work clothes and vacuuming the house. I know, I know…I’m horrible.)

After looking at some recent photos of myself I decided it’s definitely time to get serious about losing this extra weight I’m carrying and to get much healthier in the process. I can’t believe I’m actually going to tell you this (all four of you who will read this), but I gained 10 lbs during our move from CA to AK and then over the last few months (I blame the holidays), I’ve gained 10 more! This after I lost 25 lbs in the summer of 2008.

My ultimate goal is to lose at least 30 lbs, but to start small…my first goal is 10 lbs, then so on and so forth. If I lost 30 lbs it would put me within the healthy BMI for my age, height, and frame…heck 25 lbs would put me just at the border, but the extra 5 lbs is an added bonus!

Enough about numbers. I really just want to make a big effort to feel less insecure and have a better self image, even if that means I don’t get to eat all of the yummy junk food I so desperately love. I’ve tried damn near every “diet” known to mankind and they’re all just that a DIET, that nasty four letter word America loves to spend billions of dollars on.

This time it’s going to be more about finding out what works for me. The last two weeks or so I’ve been watching my caloric intake and making an effort to exercise almost every day. Just the exercising alone makes me feel that much more energetic and healthy, but limiting my calories and watching what I eat gives me that added boost of zippiness (yes I said zippiness, what? it’s a word! Google it).

Don’t get me wrong…I’m an avid junk food lover and luckily so is J, just last night he was telling me how badly he wanted junk food, but we don’t have any in the house because I have no willpower…hey at least I admit it. “Hello my name is Kristin and I’m a junk food addict.” HI KRISTIN!

Anyway, point is I don’t expect to never have any slip ups and I vow to not feel incredibly guilty and hate myself when I eat an entire bag of peanut butter M&M’s or give in to the evil-yet-oh-so-wonderful chocolaty Gods. I’m just going to make a huge effort to talk myself off of the junk food ledge before I make the leap. And if I do leap, I’ll make it up by working out harder or limiting myself to a few pieces instead of an entire bag.

I’d like to thank Kerri, Kaleigha, and Sizzle for the inspiration. Might I also add that Kerri and Kaleigha are teeny tiny, yet they’re still trying to lose weight and get healthier? Sizzle has been rocking it out and has lost 35 lbs!! I envy her.

Sidenote-Why are we women so obsessed with our weight? Oh yea that’s right…because every magazine out there is covered in diet tips, anorexic models, and how Kourtney Kardashian lost 10 lbs in 10 days or how our President called Jessica Simpson fat! No wonder we obsess over our weight, even when we’re at a perfectly healthy BMI. We always kill ourselves trying to lose those last 5 lbs.

I’ll get off my soap box now, I’m off for my date with the treadmill! Anyone have any diet or work out suggestions? Please send them my way!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Healthy food does not have to be bad tasting. That’s something not everyone knows! There are a ton of great recipes on the interwebs for yummy healthy food. It helps that I love cooking. Eating out can be hard but there are ways, once you’re committed to the change, to order smarter. I don’t believe in “diets” for myself so the only thing that has worked for me is to change my eating. Not for a short time but for life. I don’t feel like I am lacking or deprived. I still sometimes will eat a few squares of dark chocolate but might pass on the cake made with refined sugar and white flour. I just make different choices. I have a ways to go but I feel better about myself because I commit to my health every day in how I treat it- by what I eat and how often I exercise. No one can dictate what will work for you. But if you come from a place of self-love, I don’t think you can fail.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

